ChatGPT Business vs Claude Team vs Gemini: we priced 10 seats
ChatGPT Business and Claude Team now cost exactly the same per seat, and if you run Google Workspace you already pay for Gemini. So the real question for a 10-person team is not which logo, it is how many of each seat you need and who runs out first. We read all three vendors' own pages on 2 November 2026, priced five ways to buy 10 seats, and picked a side.
By Ishan Vats · Founder of IV Consulting · runs Claude Code and Cowork every working day
The team10 people already on Google Workspace
ChatGPT Business$200 a month
Claude Team$200 a month
Gemini$0 extra, in the suite
ChatGPT Business and Claude Team both cost $20 per user per month on annual billing ($25 monthly), so 10 standard seats cost $2,400 a year on either. Gemini is already included in Google Workspace Business plans, from $7 per user on Starter, and Business Standard ($14) is where it gets real Pro-model access: up to 25 prompts every 4 hours. Our verdict: if you run Workspace, make Gemini the default for everyone and buy ChatGPT or Claude seats only for the few people who will hit Gemini's limits. Never buy both for the whole team.
The sticker
ChatGPT Business vs Claude Team vs Gemini pricing: what do 10 seats cost?
Ten standard seats cost $2,400 a year on ChatGPT Business and $2,400 a year on Claude Team with annual billing, or $3,000 a year on monthly billing. Gemini has no separate seat: it comes inside Google Workspace, which a 10-person team on Business Standard pays $1,680 a year for, email and Drive included.
OpenAI cut the ChatGPT Business standard seat by $5 earlier in 2026 and has since added a $100 Premium seat. Anthropic's Team plan has sat at the same two price points since at least September. The result is a dead heat on price: same standard seat, same heavy seat, same two-seat minimum. Gemini is the odd one out, because you do not buy it, you get it with the suite.
| ChatGPT Business | Claude Team | Gemini in Google Workspace | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard seat | $20 a month annual, $25 monthly | $20 a month annual, $25 monthly | Included: Business Starter $7, Standard $14, Plus $22 a month annual |
| Heavy-user seat | Premium: $100 annual, $125 monthly | Premium: $100 annual, $125 monthly | AI Expanded Access add-on (Standard and Plus only), price set per country, not published |
| 10 standard seats a year | $2,400 annual, $3,000 monthly | $2,400 annual, $3,000 monthly | $1,680 on Business Standard ($2,016 flexible), and that is the whole suite |
| Seat rules | Minimum 2 seats; mix Standard and Premium | Teams of 2 to 150; mix Standard and Premium | 1 to 300 users on Business plans |
| Agent tools in the seat | ChatGPT Work and Codex | Claude Cowork and Claude Code | Workspace Studio flows, Gemini in Gmail, Docs, Sheets and Meet (Standard and up) |
Sources, read 2 November 2026: OpenAI, ChatGPT Business overview; Claude pricing; Google, Compare Business editions. Google's own pricing page showed us rupee prices from India, so the USD Workspace figures come from two independent trackers that both list $7, $14 and $22 annual and $8.40, $16.80 and $26.40 flexible. Check your own region.
One thing the table hides: the Workspace number is not an AI cost. You pay it for Gmail, Drive and Meet whether or not anyone opens Gemini. For a team already on Workspace, the true marginal cost of Gemini is zero on the plan you have, or $7 a user a month if you move from Starter to Standard. That is the number to hold against $20.
The limits
ChatGPT Business vs Claude Team vs Gemini usage limits: which plan hits them first?
Gemini on Business Starter hits first: Google gives it only "basic access" to the Pro and Thinking models, a 32,000-token context window and 5 Deep Research reports a month. On the $20 seats, the person running agents hits first on either ChatGPT or Claude. The real difference is what happens next.
| Limit | ChatGPT Business Standard | Claude Team Standard | Gemini, Business Standard or Plus | Gemini, Business Starter |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| How the cap works | A five-hour usage limit; Premium removes it | 1.25x the Pro allowance per five-hour session, plus a weekly cap | Pro model: up to 25 prompts per 4 hours. Thinking: up to 300 prompts a day | Pro and Thinking: "basic access, daily limits may change frequently" |
| Published message counts | On OpenAI's rate card, not on the plan page | None; Anthropic publishes multiples, not counts | Yes, in the table above | No |
| Context window | Not stated on the plan page | Not stated on the plan page | 1 million tokens | 32,000 tokens |
| Deep research | Included; limits on the rate card | Not stated per seat | 20 reports a day | 5 reports a month |
| Agent work shares the pool? | Yes: ChatGPT Work and Codex run on the seat's limits | Yes: claude.ai, Claude Code and Cowork draw one pool | Workspace Studio and in-app features have their own monthly caps | Same, with lower caps |
| What you do at the wall | Buy workspace credits, or move the person to Premium | Wait for the reset, or move the person to Premium (6.25x Pro) | Wait for the window, or buy AI Expanded Access | Wait, or upgrade the plan |
Sources, read 2 November 2026: OpenAI ChatGPT Business overview (five-hour limit, workspace credits, Premium); Anthropic Team plan documentation (1.25x and 6.25x per session) as summarised in our Claude Pro vs Max vs Team breakdown; Google's Compare Business editions table (Gemini app limits by edition).
Here is the part an AI summary of these pricing pages will not tell you. All three vendors cap the heavy user, but they hand you different levers when that person runs out. ChatGPT Business turns the wall into a bill: an admin can buy workspace credits that extend usage past the included limits, with spend controls. Claude Team and Gemini turn the wall into a wait: the documented options are the reset or a more expensive seat. Neither is better in the abstract. A wait costs you an afternoon of a person's work; a credit pool costs you money nobody budgeted unless you cap it.
We run Claude Code and Cowork every working day at IV Consulting, including the routine that drafted this post. The limit that bites is the weekly one, not the five-hour session, and it bites the person doing agent work, because Anthropic counts claude.ai, Claude Code and Cowork against one pool. Our chat-only users never get near it. Expect the same split on ChatGPT, where ChatGPT Work and Codex run on the same seat. We do not have equivalent first-hand usage data for ChatGPT Business or Gemini, so the rest of this table is the vendors' published terms, not our measurements.
The math
What do 10 seats cost on ChatGPT Business, Claude Team and Gemini, five ways?
For a 10-person team already on Google Workspace, the five realistic options run from $0 extra (Gemini only) to $4,800 a year (ChatGPT and Claude for everyone). The option we recommend, Gemini for all plus four ChatGPT or Claude seats, costs $1,800 a year if you have to upgrade from Starter, or $960 if you are already on Business Standard.
| Option for 10 people | What you buy | Extra a year, annual billing | Extra a year, monthly billing |
|---|---|---|---|
| A. Gemini only | Nothing, if you are already on Business Standard or Plus | $0 | $0 |
| A2. Gemini, upgraded | Move 10 users from Business Starter to Business Standard | $840 | $1,008 |
| B. One assistant for all | 10 Standard seats on ChatGPT Business or Claude Team | $2,400 | $3,000 |
| C. One assistant, mixed seats | 8 Standard + 2 Premium on either | $4,320 | $5,400 |
| D. Both for everyone | 10 ChatGPT Business + 10 Claude Team Standard seats | $4,800 | $6,000 |
| E. Our pick | Gemini for all (Business Standard) + 4 Standard seats on ChatGPT or Claude | $960 ($1,800 with the Starter upgrade) | $1,200 ($2,208 with the upgrade) |
How we priced it: list prices only, before tax, read 2 November 2026. "Extra" means on top of the Workspace subscription you already pay. Option C assumes two heavy agent users; option E assumes four people whose work justifies a second assistant. Nonprofit and enterprise discounts excluded.
Two numbers carry the decision. First, option D is the most common mistake we see: $4,800 a year so that everyone can "try both", when most of the team uses one tool a few times a week. Second, option C is nearly double option B for two people. Premium seats are $80 a month more than Standard on annual billing, so one only pays off for someone who is genuinely blocked by the Standard cap every week, not someone who hit it once.
A $20 seat is $240 a year. Whether it pays back depends on which tasks it takes off someone's plate and what an hour of that person costs. Put one real task into our AI agent ROI calculator, with the time it takes today and your loaded cost per person, and you will see whether that person needs a second assistant or whether Gemini already covers it.
The verdict
Our verdict: ChatGPT Business, Claude Team, or the Gemini you already have?
If your team runs Google Workspace, Gemini is the default for everyone, and you buy ChatGPT Business or Claude Team seats only for the people who hit Gemini's limits or need a real agent. Pick Claude Team for long documents, analysis and agent work in Cowork or Claude Code. Pick ChatGPT Business if your team leans on images, voice and custom GPTs, or you would rather pay for overage than wait. We take that side because the per-seat prices are now identical, so the cost difference comes entirely from how many seats you buy.
Gemini first, if you are on Workspace
You already pay for it. If you are on Business Starter, the cheapest AI upgrade available to you is moving to Business Standard for $7 more per user: it turns "basic access" into up to 25 Pro prompts every 4 hours, raises context from 32,000 tokens to 1 million, and puts Gemini inside Docs, Sheets, Meet and Drive. For a 10-person team that is $840 a year, about a third of 10 ChatGPT or Claude seats.
Claude Team for the heavy few
For writing, analysis and agent work, this is the seat we use ourselves. Budget for the weekly cap on whoever runs Cowork or Claude Code all day. Our Claude vs ChatGPT for ops teams guide covers the task-level differences, and our Claude consulting team sets it up properly.
ChatGPT Business if overage beats waiting
Same price, broader consumer feature set, and the one plan where an admin can buy workspace credits instead of telling someone to wait. Set a spend cap on day one, or that flexibility becomes a surprise invoice.
Never both for everyone
$4,800 a year for 10 people to keep two tabs open. If two tools genuinely serve different people, split the seats by person, not by curiosity. Give Premium to at most one or two people, and only after they hit the Standard cap repeatedly.
Not on Google Workspace? The same logic applies to Microsoft 365: price the AI already in your suite before you buy a standalone assistant. Our Microsoft 365 Copilot vs Gemini pricing comparison covers the suite side, and if you want the agent side explained, start with ChatGPT Work vs Claude Cowork.
FAQ
Questions about ChatGPT Business, Claude Team and Gemini pricing
How much does ChatGPT Business cost for 10 users?
ChatGPT Business costs $20 per user per month on annual billing or $25 on monthly billing for a Standard seat, so 10 users cost $2,400 a year annually or $3,000 monthly. Premium seats cost $100 annually or $125 monthly. A workspace needs at least 2 seats, and you can mix Standard and Premium.
Is Claude Team cheaper than ChatGPT Business?
No, they are priced the same. Claude Team Standard seats cost $20 per user per month annually or $25 monthly, and Premium seats cost $100 or $125, exactly matching ChatGPT Business. Claude Team is sold for teams of 2 to 150. The cost difference comes from how many seats of each type you buy, not the seat price.
Is Gemini included in Google Workspace?
Yes. The Gemini app is included in Google Workspace Business Starter, Standard and Plus. Starter gets basic access to the Pro and Thinking models and a 32,000-token context window. Business Standard and Plus get up to 25 Pro prompts every 4 hours, up to 300 Thinking prompts a day, a 1 million token context window and Gemini inside Docs, Sheets, Meet and Drive.
Which plan hits usage limits first?
Gemini on Business Starter hits first, because Google gives it only basic access to its stronger models and 5 Deep Research reports a month. On the $20 seats, the person doing agent work in ChatGPT Work, Codex, Claude Cowork or Claude Code hits first. ChatGPT Business lets admins buy workspace credits to extend usage; on Claude Team the lever is a Premium seat at 6.25x the Pro allowance.
Should a small team buy both ChatGPT and Claude?
Not for everyone. Ten Standard seats on both cost $4,800 a year on annual billing. If you run Google Workspace, make Gemini the default for the whole team and buy ChatGPT or Claude seats only for the few people who hit Gemini's limits or need agent tools, which costs about $960 a year for four seats.
Ishan Vats
Founder, IV Consulting · AI & automation consultant
I build AI agents, n8n automations and Notion operating systems for small teams, and I run Claude Code and Cowork every working day, including the routines that run this site. Which assistant seats a team actually needs comes up on almost every engagement. 150+ ops transformations over 10+ years.
Run the AI agent ROI calculator →Keep reading
Related guides and work

Claude Pro vs Max vs Team
Every Claude plan priced per unit of usage after the September cut.
Read the breakdown →
Claude vs ChatGPT for ops teams
Which assistant handles which operations work better.
Read the comparison →
Copilot vs Gemini pricing
What the AI inside your office suite really costs.
Read the comparison →Want the right seat mix for your team?
Book a free 30-minute strategy call. We will look at who on your team uses AI for what, map it to the suite you already pay for, and tell you how many ChatGPT or Claude seats you actually need. Often fewer than you think.
Book a Free Strategy Call →Free 30-minute call. Honest take, even if that means "Gemini is enough."